Saag Paneer

I’m backkk!! It has been a while. I have had some medical issues recently and it was hard to get excited about cooking. Tonight I was pretty excited about trying some ethnic cuisine, heavy in iron and protein, and a side of bread. With Passover only days away, goodness knows I want to pack the chametz in as much as possible.

I made this delicious Saag Paneer– my first time ever making it from scratch. This one comes from Connoisseurus Veg.  I left out the suggested lemon juice by accident but  I think it could definitely use the acid flavor the next time. It was a bit too sweet. I would probably use less coconut milk, too, so it is slightly less creamy. Either way, it was delicious. Here’s the deal:

Ingredients (serves 2)

  • 1 chopped yellow onion
  • 1 T. grated ginger root
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 9 oz fresh spinach IMG_2184
  • 2 T. vegetable oil
  • 1 lb. extra firm organic tofu
  • 1 t. turmeric
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 t. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. garam masala
  • 2 t. sugar
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk

Instructions

  1. Dry tofu by pressing between paper towels and then chop into cubes.
  2. Put onion, ginger, garlic and spinach in a food processor until chopped but not quite blended
  3. Heat oil in a wok over medium heat. Add tofu and cook until golden brown (about 10 minutes). Keep flipping over so all sides of the tofu cubes are golden brown.
  4. Sprinkle turmeric over the tofu and mix until tofu cubes are coated. IMG_2182
  5. Add the spinach mixture, broth, spices, sugar and salt. Stir to mix then reduce and allow to simmer.
  6. Add coconut milk and cook for a minute. Mixture should be thick and creamy.

The recipe calls for this to be served with naan or rice. I have had rice-based dishes the past few nights so I forewent the rice and used some toasted pita bread instead of naan. IMG_2185

The best part about this meal was how quick it was to cook! Perfect for a busy week night.

Leave a comment